Four Clan Kitchen

What we eat everyday

Onion Marmalade

Posted by fourclankitchen on November 4, 2012

I went to a new Italian restaurant a couple of days ago and ordered onion marmalade as part of an anti-pasti plate.  What I got was three measly slivers of onion on top of an Italian version of hummus.  When the weekend rolled around,  I could not get the idea of onion marmalade out of my head and decided that I would serve it with baked brie for my election night party.  There we two types of recipes: ones which used balsamic vinegar and others which used cider vinegar.  I went with the latter because it seemed it would be less harsh than the balsamic vinegar and would go better with warm brie.  This recipe is from Bon Appetit (1997) via Epicurious.  I made only two changes:  one, I  omitted the raisins (due to laziness) and two, I added a tbs of butter at the end because I thought I would get a mellower and richer marmalade.

Ingredients

1/4 cup olive oil

6 cups thinly sliced red onions (about 3 1/4 pounds);  I used sweet onions

1/2 teaspoon dried crushed red pepper

1 cup (packed) dark brown sugar

3/4 cup apple cider vinegar

1/2 cup dry Sherry

1 1/2 tablespoons grated peeled fresh ginger

1/2 cup raisins (I omitted)

1 tbs butter

Method

1 Heat oil in heavy large pot over medium heat. Add onions and dried red pepper. Cover and cook until onions are tender, stirring occasionally, about 15 minutes.

2. Add brown sugar, vinegar, Sherry and ginger. Cook uncovered until onions are very tender and mixture is is very thick and dark, stirring frequently, about 20 minutes.

3. Season to taste with salt and pepper. Add the butter and cool completely.  Cover and refrigerate.

Leave a Reply

 
