Four Clan Kitchen

What we eat everyday

Almond Poppyseed Cake

Posted by fourclankitchen on September 2, 2012

Anyone who reads this blog knows I have a thing for simple desserts and a bigger thing for all sweet things that contain almonds.  This almond poppyseed cake meets both these requirements.   I was actually surprised by how almondy it was and tasted as wonderful as the almond cake, that I posted previously.  The recipe came mostly from Food and Wine, but I also consulted a recipe in the NYT and LA Times because I did not think that 3/4-1 cup of poppy seeds would work for me.  The 1/4 cup I settled for, was plenty for me.  In order to make up for the lost seeds,  I added almond flour to the recipe.  This worked very well.  I have also seen version that use lemon zest and juice:  that also appeals to me.  Finally,  I found the cake to be a bit too buttery.  Next time, I will  go with 12-14 tbs of butter and will report back.

Ingredients

  1. 1/4 cup poppy seeds (the original recipe calls for 3/4 cup, I thought that would  be too much)
  2. 1/2 cup water
  3. 1 1/3 cups all-purpose flour, plus more for dusting
  4. 1/4 cup almond meal/almond flour (I used Bob’s Red Mill) This was not in the original recipe, but something needed to stand in for the reduced quantity of  poppy seeds
  5. 2 teaspoons baking powder
  6. 1/4 teaspoon salt
  7. 1 3/4 sticks (14 tablespoons) unsalted butter, softened  (next time,  I might try going with 12-13 tbs.  this was a bit much
  8. 1 cup granulated sugar
  9. 4 large eggs
  10. 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  11. 1 teaspoon pure almond extract
  12. Confectioners’ sugar, for dusting  (I did not use)

Method

  1. In a small cup, microwave  the water and poppyseeds for 2 min (You could do this stove top as well). . Let stand for 20 min (the original recipe suggests 1 hour, but the NYT recipe said 20 min for I figured this would just fine)  I also did not crush this mixture in a blender:  I would not bother unless you have one of those high falutin blenders.
  2. Preheat the oven to 350°. Lightly grease and flour an 8-inch square baking pan, tapping out any excess flour. In a medium bowl, whisk the 1 1/3 cups of flour with the almond meal, baking powder and salt. In a large bowl, using a handheld mixer, beat the butter with the granulated sugar at medium-high speed until fluffy, about 3 minutes. Add the poppy seed mixture and beat at medium speed until just combined. Add the eggs to the batter one at a time, beating well between additions. Beat in the vanilla and almond extracts. Using a wooden spoon, stir in the flour mixture until just incorporated. Scrape the batter into the prepared pan.
  3. Bake the cake for about 45 minutes, until the top is golden and a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean. Let the cake cool in the pan for 10 minutes, then invert it onto a wire rack and let cool completely, about 2 hours. Dust the cake with confectioners’ sugar if desired, cut into squares and serve.

MAKE AHEAD The poppy seed cake can be kept in an airtight container at room temperature for up to 3 days.
Leave a Reply

 
