Four Clan Kitchen

What we eat everyday

Apple Butter

Posted by fourclankitchen on October 10, 2011

Honey crisps are my favorite apple these days, so I am delighted that they are now showing in the store in copious numbers.  They are just the perfect combination of sweet and tart for making this apple butter and any dessert you might fancy.  For this batch, I adapted a recipe from Serious Eats with some slight modifications.

First,   I did not peel the apples.  If the peels are fully blended (a stick blender is best),  then the peels really don’t get in the way of the  smoothness or flavor.  In fact, they impart a lovely reddish hue to the apple butter (see pictures).

Second, I eliminated all of the spices suggested in the recipe  (cinnamon, cloves, all spice).  You can add them back in if you like, but I really like the fruit flavor to speak for itself.

Third, This recipe yields about 2 large jam jars worth of apple butter.  It will keep for a while in refrigerator (~ 3 weeks) and it will also  keep beautifully in the freezer as well with no loss of texture or taste.  I have no idea how long you can keep this in the freezer, but I am guessing that it is several months.

Fourth, the recipe calls for 2 cups of sugar which I think is overkill, although this will depend on the type of apple you use.  So I recommend starting with 1 1/2 cups sugar and then adding more if your apple butter needs it.

Ingredients:

  • 4 lbs (about 8 medium-large) honeycrisps,  cut into large chunks (no need to peel)
  • 1 cup apple cider
  • 1 1/2-2 cups white sugar
  • 2 tablespoons lemon juice

Method:
  1. Place apple and apple cider in a large Dutch oven and bring to a simmer over medium heat. Cover and cook until apples are completely tender, about 20 minutes.

  2. Turn off the flame and using a stick blender,  puree the apples, until completely smooth.

  3.  Turn the flame back on  medium-low,  stir in sugar and lemon juice. Continue to simmer, uncovered, until sauce turns a deep brown and thickens, about 1-2 hours (mine took 1 1/2 hours), stirring regularly to prevent burning.  You can overdo the cooking time, making your apple butter too stiff, so quit while you are ahead.

  4. Let apple butter cool to room temperature, then scoop into clean jars.

2 Responses to “Apple Butter”

  1. Thank you so much for this! I have never made my own apple butter but we go apple picking at this time every year and I always have a plethora of apples. This will be a great addition to my list of things to make. Also…I have a great $100 give away on my blog today from the Fairy Hobmother…if you stop by, make sure to leave a “wish” for him to visit you in the comments area. That’s how to enter.

Leave a Reply

 
