Four Clan Kitchen

What we eat everyday

Almond Cake

Posted by fourclankitchen on January 9, 2011

This has got to be my new favorite cake, although I have said this before about lemon pound cakes, apple yogurt cake and an apple balzano cake on this blog.  That was then. Now, my gluttony for this cake supercedes my gluttony for the aforementioned ones.  I got this recipe from David Lebovitz’ website and even a consumate tinkerer like me could not find a thing to alter in it.  Well, just one teeny change motivated by convenience, cheapness and yes, gluttony.  The almond paste (Odense) comes in a 7oz package: I tasted some of it (in itself a dessert)- so I ended up putting in 6.5 oz instead of the recommended 8 oz which I am sure will be just that much better.
Almond Cake ( from David Lebovitz)

Ingredients:
1 1/3 cups sugar
8 ounces almond paste (I used 6.5oz)
3/4, plus 1/4 cup all purpose flour
1 cup (8 ounces, 2 sticks) unsalted butter, at room temperature, cubed
1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
3/4 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 teaspoon almond extract
6 large eggs, at room temperature

1. Preheat the oven to 325ºF. Grease a 9-inch spring form pan with butter, dust it with flour and tap out any excess. Line the bottom of the pan with a round of parchment paper.
2. This recipe is really simplified if you use a food processor.  In  a food processor, grind the sugar, almond paste, and 1/4 cup (35g) of flour until the almond paste is finely ground.
3. In a small bowl, whisk together the remaining 3/4 cup of flour, baking powder, and salt.
4. Once the almond paste is completely broken up, add the cubes of butter and the vanilla and almond extracts, then process until the batter is very smooth and fluffy.
5. Add the eggs one at a time, processing a bit before the next addition.
6. Add half the flour mixture and pulse the machine a few times, then add the rest, pulsing the machine until the drying ingredients are just incorporated. Do not overmix.
7. Scrape the batter into the prepared cake pan and bake the cake for 65 minutes, or until the top is deep brown and feels set when you press in the center.
8. Remove the cake from the oven and  loosen the cake from the sides of the pan. Let the cake cool completely in the pan.
Once cool, tap the cake out of the pan, remove the parchment paper, and set on a cake plate until ready to serve.

Storage: This cake will keep for four days at room temperature, well-wrapped. It can also be frozen for up to two months.

3 Responses to “Almond Cake”

  1. Almond is one of my favorite all-time flavors. YUM! This cake looks so moist and delicious, and I would love it with a nice espresso right now please. BTW…I have no idea why my blog doesn’t want to accept your comments?!!! 😦 Weird.

    • I wish I could take credit for creating this cake! I had to take 3 shots at getting a comment on you site, but it clearly did get through since you saw it. Looking forward to many more interesting recipes from you.

  2. […] of almonds, this could be the ingredient that jazzes up your desserts.  I previously posted an almond cake on this blog that uses almond paste: it is one of my favorite cakes in the whole world.  I was […]

Leave a Reply

 
